"This year is when our support is going to be needed the most. Sadly, many environmental organisations have been badly knocked by the Covid-19 pandemic and we are in danger of losing their valuable services," says David Parry-Davies, director of The Enviropaedia and the Eco-Logic Awards.

"They have endured the loss of funding, resources, staff and volunteers, as well as cancellations of mass green events like beach clean-ups," adds Parry-Davies.

According to the awards, all is not lost, though. 2021 is the start of the United Nations Decade on Ecosystem Restoration (2021-2030) and, according to Parry-Davies, the disruption of the pandemic has allowed us to re-set the way we live, work and socialise in a more compassionate and environmentally sustainable manner.

Further to this, he says that there is an opportunity to build more sustainable, purpose-based and profitable businesses. This is while improving the quality of life for all inhabitants of this planet.

"The Covid-19 virus has entirely disrupted our self-destructive 'business as usual' discourse and we must use this time wisely. We now have the chance to re-think what we prioritise and value," says Parry-Davies. 

In celebration of its 10th anniversary, the Eco-Logic Awards have introduced three new categories this year, including: 
  • Eco-fashion and Lifestyle,
  • Eco-health and Wellness, and
  • Eco-hospitality and Tourism.
"We are excited about these categories as they will showcase everyday products and services that consumers use. [They will also] highlight how they can best exercise their spending power," says Parry-Davies.

"The retail, leisure and tourism industries have suffered greatly during the lockdown, so we hope to help boost sales and assist with business recovery by generating awareness around their contributions to the health of our planet," Parry-Davies concludes.

The winners in each of the 11 official categories will be announced on the evening of the virtual awards ceremony. Usually an in-person event, the awards went virtual in 2020 in response to Covid-19.

The full category list for the 2021 Eco-Logic Awards includes:
  1. Nature Conservation (previously Biodiversity)
  2. Climate Change
  3. Eco-Innovation
  4. Recycling and Circular Economy
  5. Water Conservation
  6. Eco-Fashion and Lifestyle
  7. Eco-Health and Wellness
  8. Eco-Community
  9. Eco-Hospitality and Tourism
  10. Eco-Angel, and
  11. Eco-Warrior.
The closing date for entry submission is Monday, 31 May. To enter or nominate an individual or organisation, individuals are encouraged to visit the website. 

For more information, visit www.eco-logicawards.com. You can also follow the Eco-Logic Awards on Facebook or on Twitter