Since 1997, the PRISM Awards says that it has acknowledged excellence in campaigns, institutions and individuals within the spheres of PR and communications. 

The awards add, that with a long-standing tradition of celebrating the most outstanding work emerging from the communications sector, the 26th annual PRISM Awards have become one of Africa's most sought-after accolades in the industry.

Reflecting the changing landscape of the PR industry and the world, organisers have also introduced an array of new categories this year to recognise all storytellers, whether they are:
  • individuals
  • students
  • consultancies
  • companies
  • government organisations, or
  • NGOs.

PRISA's mandate for 2023 is to focus on reimagining what the sector can do to drive change and provide significant value to brands.

According to the general manager of PRISA, Landiwe Manana, the PRISMs play an important benchmarking role in the public relations industry.

"Each year an esteemed panel of judges, comprising celebrated industry leaders and industry authorities, evaluate entries based on distinction, merit and presentation, and — even more crucially — tangible outcomes and actual impact," says Manana.

"Going beyond the press release, PR and communications experts have come to understand the real power of creating magic through conversation. This is what the awards focus on," Manana adds.

Caroline Smith, head of PR at Flow Communications, believes that the PRISM Awards symbolise the incredible work that modern PR specialists devote themselves to, and the profound impact and positive change that the best campaigns can induce. Flow Communications walked away with an 22 awards last year.

Smith believes that, while excellent work is done for the sake of making a difference in the world and not for winning awards, the many PRISM accolades that she and her team have garnered over the years are an invaluable testament to their dedication.

"As a formal acknowledgement of mastery over our respective crafts, the accolades are a source of pride, and a yardstick for excellence, inspiring all future endeavours," Smith adds.

Smith says that brilliance in PR is always a result of collaborative synergies and that success is measured not in monetary value, client spend, or equivalent print ad space, but in real-world impacts and results.

One tip Smith offers aspiring PRISM winners cultivating excellence in PR is to proactively define what excellence means for each client and project.

Smith adds "Alignment of values and a mutual understanding with clear objectives and measurable goals are important precursors to any excellent work."

The awards are judged by over 60 experienced judges alongside 10 dynamic young judges, as part of the PRISMs Young Voices initiative. The judging process is rigorous and transparent, ensuring that entrants are all evaluated fairly, based on the same set of category-specific criteria.

"Based on the calibre of previous years' victors, judges can look forward to some remarkable submissions showcasing the industry's brightest and best. There'll inevitably be some tough decisions, as we weigh various exemplary submissions. I'll personally be on the lookout for campaigns that epitomise the 'wow’ factor, that demonstrate tremendous creativity and innovation, as well as a clear understanding of their target audience," concludes Manana.

Based on the feedback received following 2022's PRISMs, organisers have made several changes, including a streamlined, updated entry process, making it easier than ever to participate.

The entire entry submission along with any attachments can be submitted through the awards' digital portal.

Starting on Thursday, 23 March the PRISM Awards 2023 are open and accepting entries. Entries for the 2023 PRISM Awards can be submitted electronically here.  

For more information, visit You can also follow PRISM Awards on FacebookTwitter on Instagram.